Intensive English Language Program

Course Available
25 Units
Main Campus
Classroom

Course Description

The Intensive English Language Program (IELP) provides non-native English speakers with specific language skills to prepare them for entering a U.S. university or the global marketplace. University of San Diego's English Language Academy (ELA) maintains a rigorous academic course of study, with a focus on five core skills and TOEFL preparation. Many of our successful graduates have gone on to undergraduate and graduate programs across the country.

  • Six levels of English, from Beginning to Advanced
  • Pre-testing for accurate class placement
  • Post-testing to highlight improvements
  • Small classes of 10-15 for a strong connection with faculty
  • Highly qualified, experienced professors with graduate degrees and English Language teaching
  • The program is scheduled in 14-week semesters in the Fall and Spring, and a 10-week semester in the Summer. There is a shortened version of the Intensive English Program with two 7 week sessions in the Fall and Spring, and two 5-week sessions during the Summer.
 

Admission Process

Enrollment, Cancellation, Withdrawal and Refund Policy

Course Details

Who Should Attend: International students who are considering entering a U.S. university or the global marketplace

Accommodations: Students may have an opportunity to stay in the university’s student residence halls. They are modern, clean and comfortable apartments, generally for eight students in twin-study bedrooms with two communal bathrooms and a living area. Each residence has its own reception area, round-the-clock security, vending machines and laundry facilities. Residential students have full-board which includes three meals per day.  Campus housing is not available for the Short Term Intensive English Language Program.

Instructors: USD faculty and experienced practitioners provide a stimulating and participative learning environment. All instructors have earned a Master's Degree or higher.

Course Options

Course Date Units Price
ELA-X700 – FA22-7 Wk Session B 11 Oct 202202 Dec 2022 25 $3175

7 Week Intensive English Language

11 Oct 202202 Dec 2022
25
$3175
Classroom
In Person
View Details

ELA-X700 – FA22-7 Wk Session B – 7 Week Intensive English Language

Number of Sessions: 39

Type Date Time Location Instructors
In Person Tue Oct 11, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Oct 13, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Oct 14, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Oct 17, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Oct 19, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Oct 20, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Oct 21, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Oct 24, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Oct 25, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Oct 26, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Oct 28, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Oct 31, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Nov 1, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Nov 2, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Nov 3, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Nov 4, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Nov 7, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Nov 8, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Nov 9, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Nov 10, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Nov 11, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Nov 14, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Nov 15, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Nov 17, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Nov 18, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Nov 21, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Nov 22, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Nov 23, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Nov 25, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Nov 28, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Nov 29, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Nov 30, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Dec 1, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Dec 2, 2022 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila

Textbooks/materials are not included in the price of tuition.  Application Fee ($200) is non-refundable.

This course requires an application process to be completed prior to enrollment. Note: this process requires a non-refundable $200 payment.

ELA-X700 – SP23-14 Week 17 Jan 202305 May 2023 25 $6175

Intensive English Language

17 Jan 202305 May 2023
25
$6175
Classroom
In Person
View Details

ELA-X700 – SP23-14 Week – Intensive English Language

Number of Sessions: 79

Type Date Time Location Instructors
In Person Tue Jan 17, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Jan 18, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Jan 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Jan 26, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Jan 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Jan 30, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Jan 31, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 6, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 7, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 8, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 9, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 13, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 14, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 15, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 16, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 21, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 22, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 23, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 28, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 6, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 7, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 8, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 9, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 13, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 14, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 15, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 16, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 21, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 22, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 23, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 28, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 29, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 30, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 31, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 4, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 5, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 6, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 7, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 11, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 12, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 13, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 14, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 18, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 19, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 20, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 21, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 25, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 26, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 27, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 28, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon May 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue May 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed May 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu May 4, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri May 5, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila

Textbooks/materials are not included in the price of tuition.  Application Fee ($200) is non-refundable.

There are no classes during Spring Break; March 6- 10, 2023.

There are no classes during Easter Break; April 6- 10, 2023.

This course requires an application process to be completed prior to enrollment. Note: this process requires a non-refundable $200 payment.

ELA-X700 – SP23-7 Wk Session A 17 Jan 202317 Mar 2023 25 $3285

7 Week Intensive English Language

17 Jan 202317 Mar 2023
25
$3285
Classroom
In Person
View Details

ELA-X700 – SP23-7 Wk Session A – 7 Week Intensive English Language

Number of Sessions: 44

Type Date Time Location Instructors
In Person Tue Jan 17, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Jan 18, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Jan 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Jan 26, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Jan 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Jan 30, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Jan 31, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 6, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 7, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 8, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 9, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 13, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 14, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 15, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 16, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 21, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Feb 22, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Feb 23, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Feb 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Feb 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Feb 28, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 6, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 7, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 8, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 9, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 13, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 14, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 15, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 16, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila

Textbooks/materials are not included in the price of tuition.  Application Fee ($200) is non-refundable.

There are no classes during Spring Break; March 6- 10, 2023.

This course requires an application process to be completed prior to enrollment. Note: this process requires a non-refundable $200 payment.

ELA-X700 – SP23-7 Wk Session B 14 Mar 202305 May 2023 25 $3285

7 Week Intensive English Language

14 Mar 202305 May 2023
25
$3285
Classroom
In Person
View Details

ELA-X700 – SP23-7 Wk Session B – 7 Week Intensive English Language

Number of Sessions: 39

Type Date Time Location Instructors
In Person Tue Mar 14, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 15, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 16, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 21, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 22, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 23, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Mar 28, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Mar 29, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Mar 30, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Mar 31, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 4, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 5, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 6, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 7, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 10, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 11, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 12, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 13, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 14, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 17, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 18, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 19, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 20, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 21, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon Apr 24, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue Apr 25, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed Apr 26, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu Apr 27, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri Apr 28, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Mon May 1, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Tue May 2, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Wed May 3, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Thu May 4, 2023 9:00AM – 3:00PM Main Campus, Avila
In Person Fri May 5, 2023 9:00AM – 4:00PM Main Campus, Avila

Textbooks/materials are not included in the price of tuition.  Application Fee ($200) is non-refundable.

There are no classes during Easter Break;  April 6- 10, 2023.

This course requires an application process to be completed prior to enrollment. Note: this process requires a non-refundable $200 payment.

What You Will Learn

  • Develop and expand your English language skills
  • Build an academic vocabulary and strengthen your grammar skills
  • Form an understanding of different English dialects and idioms
  • Use engaging communication activities to significantly improve listening and understanding
  • Prepare for and increase TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) or IELTS (International English Language Training System) score
  • Become familiar with American culture to better understand the background and values of Americans 
  • Apply new skills to successfully transition to college or enhance career

Of note: at the English Language Academy, Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) are specific to each skill/level.

Instructors

Professional development courses offered by the University of San Diego’s Division of Professional & Continuing Education are taught by faculty that possess a depth and breadth of academic and real-world professional experience.

Why USD?

PCE nurtures key partnerships on the local, national and international level to better serve working professionals who seek to enhance or build their careers, as well as with their employers to help achieve their highest value and potential. Contact us today to learn more.

Informative Stats and Facts

600+

Number of high-quality, career-building courses to choose from

50+

Number of in-depth, innovative, and relevant topics

25+

Career advancing certificates

Learning Method Information

Courses offer a convenient, yet rigorous style of learning that allows you to structure your education to suit your schedule while keeping you on pace toward achieving your educational.

Classroom

These on-campus courses are offered in a traditional classroom where you can connect with your instructor and classmates in a live setting. This learning environment facilitates communication in real time, enables immediate feedback and fosters face-to-face interaction with the instructor and classmates. Classroom courses have a scheduled start and finish date, and students are expected to attend all course sessions.

Key Benefits of English Language Academy Courses

Dynamic, Practical Language Skills

Our individualized, skill-based placement system stimulates dynamic learning for students of varying levels of language proficiency with instruction that is tailored to their unique needs.

Sense of Community

Our faculty and staff engage students from around the globe in an enriching, high-quality educational experience where they also build friendships that help stimulate academic success.

Invested in Your Success

Our mission is to help each student thrive while developing the English language skills that position them to achieve personal, professional and academic goals.